Почему христианину следовало бы носить нательный крест?

shutterstock_365036159Крест – главный христианский символ, который представляет прежде всего Самого Христа, Его смерть и те невыразимые страдания, которые Он претерпел ради нашего спасения. Кроме того, крест напоминает нам о крестном пути, который должны пройти мы сами, если хотим следовать за Христом. Крест, носимый на шее — это прежде всего видимый знак веры, который, помимо всего прочего, защищает душу своего владельца, предоставляет важную духовную поддержку и направляет его на путь познания Бога и спасения. По словам святителя Игнатия Брянчанинова, «крест есть истинное и единственное училище, хранилище и престол истинного богословия». Поэтому в Русской Православной Церкви считается, что крест носить необходимо. Крест дается каждому новому члену церкви при Св. Крещении и предназначен для постоянного ношения. Это помогает подчеркнуть, что Таинство Св. Крещения — символическое сораспятие и совоскресение со Христом, когда умирает «ветхий человек» и рождается «человек новый», очищенный Св. Духом и освобожденный от страстей и неограниченного действия бесов внутри своей души.

И в Византии, и на древней Руси было принято носить крест на груди, поскольку, будучи вместилищем сердца, она считалась священной частью тела. Миряне обычно прятали крест под одеждой, так, чтобы его не было видно, и такой обычай сохранился до сих пор. В этом случае крест постоянно соприкасается с телом и как бы составляет с ним единое целое, тем самым создавая постоянную связь между верующим, Христом и Церковью. Кроме того, он напоминает верующему о его собственном крестном пути и особенно тесно связан с Крестом Христовым, так как способствует сопряжению Креста Христова и личного креста, который, по словам Самого Спасителя, должен нести каждый из нас. Если крест не виден, он выполняет только защитную (апотропеическую) функцию и защищает верующего от духовных опасностей в зависимости от того, насколько близки его отношения с Богом.

Обыкновенно в Византийской империи, а затем в России открыто носили крест поверх одежды только епископы. Рядовые священники стали делать это гораздо позже, примерно в 17-18 в. Более того, открыто носили крест правители — византийские императоры, русские князья и цари, тем самым показывая, что их власть дана от Бога и освящена Им. Когда крест носится поверх одежды, наиболее важным становится именно символика христианского служения. Верующий как бы дает всем понять, что он — слуга Христов и вся его светская деятельность происходит во Христе и во славу Христа. В подобном случае верующий оказывается связан не только со Христом и Его Церковью, но и с окружающим миром, что означает большую ответственность и большее количество искушений. Однако справедливости ради следует отметить, что и среди мирян существовал обычай открыто носить красивые кресты как часть праздничного женского убора. Признавалось и то, что крест может иметь не только защитную, но и эстетическую функцию.

В заключение можно сказать, что в любых исторических и культурных условиях наиболее выгодно, безопасно и желательно носить крест под одеждой и не выставлять его на всеобщее обозрение, хотя разрешено и носить его поверх одежды.

navigation arrow to top

Why should a Christian wear a cross pendant?

shutterstock_365036159The cross is the ultimate Christian symbol that represents Christ Himself, His death and the untold suffering He had to undergo for the sake of our salvation. Furthermore, it reminds us of the way of the cross that lies ahead of anyone who wants to follow Christ. More than anything else, a cross worn around one’s neck is a visible sign of faith, which, among other things, protects one’s soul, provides important spiritual support and guides one toward the path of salvation and greater knowledge of God. According to the St. Ignatius Bryanchaninov, “the cross is the only genuine throne, school and storehouse of true theological knowledge”. Therefore it is believed in the Russian Orthodox Church that wearing a cross is obligatory. A cross is given to every new member of the Church during their baptism and is meant for constant wear. This helps to emphasize that the sacrament of the Holy Baptism is a symbolic co-crucifixion and co-resurrection along with Christ, a moment when “the old man” dies and “the new man” is born, cleansed by the Holy Spirit and liberated from passions and from the free reign of demons in their soul.

In the Byzantine Empire, as well as in medieval Russia, it was customary to wear the cross on one’s chest, because this part of the body is the seat of the heart, and, as such, was seen as sacred. Laypersons usually concealed the cross under their clothing to prevent it from being seen, a custom that has survived to this day. In this case the cross constantly touches the body and the two seem to form a single whole, which, in turn, creates a constant connection between the believer, Christ and the Holy Church. In addition, the cross reminds the believer of their private own way of the cross and is equated to the Cross of Christ with particular ease, as it invokes a parallel between the Cross of Christ and the personal cross which, in the Savior’s own words, each of us is required to bear. If the cross is invisible to others, it has a purely protective (apotropaic) function and protects the wearer from spiritual dangers depending on the strength of their relationship with God.

In the Byzantine Empire, and later in Russia, the only ones to wear crosses in public over their clothes were bishops. Ordinary priests began to do so much later, approximately in the 17th or 18th century. In addition, crosses were worn openly by the heads of state – that is, by Byzantine emperor and by Russian Princes and Tsars. By doing so, they would demonstrate that their power had been granted and ordained by God. It is this symbolism of Christian ministry that comes to the fore if one decides to wear a cross over one’s clothes. The believer seems to be letting everyone know that he or she is a servant of Christ and all of his or her secular activities take place in Christ and for Christ’s glory. In this case, the believer establishes a connection not only with Christ and His Holy Church, but also with the surrounding world, which means more responsibility and a greater number of temptations. However, it should be noted for the sake of justice that the practice of wearing the cross openly did exist among the laity, as women would occasionally wear ornate crosses over the clothes as part of their festive outfits, and the cross was recognized as having an aesthetic function as well as a protective one.

To summarize, it could be argued that wearing a cross in secret under one’s clothes is the most beneficial, safe and desirable option in any historical and cultural context, though wearing a cross over one’s outer clothes is also allowed.

navigation arrow to top